865 Mulberry St - Cannonball House

Greek Revival Style | c. 1854

Now known as the Cannonball House for the cannonball which struck the house in the 1860s. Built by Judge Asa Holt, it is now the headquarters of the United Daughters of the Confederacy, Sidney Lanier Chapter, which operates it as a house museum. Notice the fine ironwork fence, manufactured by Findlay Iron Works, a former Macon foundry. In the rear is the original brick kitchen outbuilding, now converted to showcase Confederate memorabilia.

 


rdm_10.png